My forgotten dreamcatcher


You know about the things that we get and forget right? We do that all the time. I bought a dreamcatcher once in a Mexican arts and craft store where I went to shorten my wrist-watch’s metal band. I did not know what a ‘dreamcatcher’ was at that time. According to Wikipedia,

According to Terri J. Andrews, “Only good dreams would be allowed to filter through . . . Bad dreams would stay in the net, disappearing with the light of day.”[4] Good dreams would pass through and slide down the feathers to the sleeper.

The store operator told me…or I understood it so that a dreamcatcher brings your dreams come true…so, I bought one… it was made out of leather, red leather on the outside, yellow on the inside with one long white feather and another short one on top of it. It looked beautiful. I bought it for its aesthetic appeal rather than its associations with dreams.

In any case, I placed it above the computer of my laptop dock on my desk and it probably fell behind the screen and I forgot about it. At that time, I was a recent graduate with shameful grades and struggling finances and therefore a low self-esteem of all times. In those days I used to dream about having my own project, my own publications and going to graduate school…which is where I am today.

Today is my last day at work. As I was cleaning my desk to head out to Africa tomorrow and then to Chicago for my PhD, I found my dreamcatcher behind the computer screen. May be it was there this whole time catching me good dreams and making my dreams come true. I had an option to chug it or take it with me…guess what I did….you guessed it right. Its in the box with “The most valuable things” scribbled on it.

Leave a comment

Filed under My Life My Thoughts, Other

Leave a Reply

